body{display:block;}

Psychiatry and psychotherapy

Thank you for your interest in my website. On the following pages you will find various information about mental health and my range of services. A central goal of my work is to offer people in health and illness a safe and open atmosphere that enables development and recovery.

An overview of essential aspects can be found in the following list on this page.

  • Mental health

    All people oscillate between physical (somatic) and mental health and illness. Nobody is completely healthy and nobody is completely ill. In the course of life almost every person develops a mental illness. However, a diagnosis does not always mean that therapeutic intervention is necessary. The central step towards maintaining mental health or recovery is the courage to get in touch and talk openly about the current situation. The greatest danger of falling ill is the temptation to carry out all conflicts alone and to treat symptoms on one’s own. Mental illness is easily treatable if evidence-based methods are used. This usually means a combination of psychopharmacological and psychotherapeutic interventions. Both processes require sufficient time to discuss the medical issues and psychological moments in detail. The focus is ultimately on the therapeutic relationship, whose transparency, differentiation and authenticity determine the success of the therapy.

  • Diagnostics

    One focus of my clinical activities is comprehensive and detailed psychiatric diagnostics, which is the central prerequisite for the development of an adequate therapy strategy. This includes not only a precise clarification of organic aspects but also a detailed assessment of the personality organization, since both have a significant influence on the selection of the indicated therapeutic interventions. Since many patients come to a specialist for psychiatry and psychotherapeutic medicine late and with correspondingly advanced disease, I have developed a preventive examination for people who currently feel largely healthy, to determine the current status of their mental health. If you already suffer from an illness and experience a functional limitation in your private or professional life, I recommend that you contact me as soon as possible. A progression of the disease without treatment reduces the variance of prognostic scenarios and achievable therapeutic goals. At the same time, an advanced disease usually increases the complexity of the therapeutic procedures and the length of time until remission of the symptoms.

  • Clinical focus

    • Depression
    • Burnout
    • Bipolar disorder (mania/depression)
    • Anxiety Disorder
    • Addictions (alcohol, tobacco, medicine and drug addiction)
    • Pain disorder/Somatoform disorder
    • Attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome ADHD
    • Borderline fault
    • Narcissistic disorder

    The main focus of my work lies in the following areas:

    • Diagnostics
    • Psychopharmacology
    • Psychoanalytically oriented psychotherapy
    • Coaching and consulting in the context of burnout and mobbing
    • Diagnostics and therapy with consideration of the personality organization

    You can find detailed information about my clinical activities under Clinical Focus.

  • Therapy

    The therapeutic strategy is developed together with the patient, taking into account all diagnostic information, since individual goals can vary greatly. A specific feature of my work is the integration of methods from psychiatry and psychoanalytically oriented psychotherapy. The combination of evidence-based psychopharmacological and psychotherapeutic interventions enables the highest degree of effectiveness. In general, no drug treatment is recommended without a corresponding psychotherapeutic process. Patients can follow this process either with me or with a psychotherapist recommended by me, depending on capacity. The decision for a private practice has the advantage that you can flexibly arrange the intensity of the therapeutic process.

  • Person

    Dr. Gerald Pail is a specialist in psychiatry and psychotherapeutic medicine and runs a private practice and teaching practice in Vienna. He completed his training at the University Clinic for Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at Vienna General Hospital and at the Anton Proksch Institute Vienna. His clinical focus is on the diagnosis and therapy of affective disorders, anxiety disorders, adult ADHD, addictions and personality disorders. His academic research at the Medical University of Vienna focused on the interaction of emotion processing systems as well as on cerebral gene effects. He completed training as a psychotherapeutic physician at the University Clinic for Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy Vienna and as a psychoanalytically oriented psychotherapist at the Vienna Psychoanalytic Academy. Currently he is also in training as a psychoanalyst at the Vienna Psychoanalytic Association. Dr. Gerald Pail also works as a psychodynamic consultant, coach and supervisor. He is a certified business coach by the Free University of Berlin and a graduate of the psychoanalytically oriented Leadership&Consulting course of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Academy. He has also worked as a medical consultant for the pharmaceutical industry, as a clinical researcher at two different study centers, and as a lecturer at the Medical University of Vienna and the Free University of Berlin. He is initiator and co-editor of the book Psychopharmaka Austria and president of Bring Freud ins Leben, Society against discrimination of people with mental illness.

  • Private practice

    Dr. Gerald Pail
    Specialist for psychiatry and psychotherapeutic medicine
    Psychoanalytically oriented psychotherapist
    Psychodynamic coach, consultant and supervisor
    Head of teaching practice

    Center for Psychiatry and Psychotherapy Vienna
    Elective doctor in private practice
    Dates by arrangement

    Zimmermanngasse 1A/2/8, 1090 Vienna

    » View in Google Maps

    Private practice
    T +43 1 3618884
    M +43 676 6356659
    M +43 676 9162221 Contact for medical emergencies of existing patients

    E office@geraldpail.net

    Appointment
    If you would like to make an appointment for an initial consultation, it is best to write an email in which you also provide your mobile phone number for making the appointment. If you have specific questions about fees, reimbursement or setting, you can also reach the reception in the morning by telephone.

    Telemedicine
    Dr. Gerald Pail also offers all his services online. To speak with him in a video session or to exchange documents, please log in to the LATIDO Patient Portal.

    LATIDO PatientInnen Portal

    You can find the directions to our practice under Contact Practice. Photos of the practice can be found under Contact Practice. Further information on confidentiality, data protection and telemedicine can be found under Contact Telemedicine / Data Protection.

More detailed information can be found on the website under the respective menu items. Please also note my offers as psychodynamic consultant, coach and supervisor.

Welcome, Dr. Gerald Pail.

body{display:block;}

Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie

Ich freue mich über Ihr Interesse an meiner Website. Es erwarten Sie auf den folgenden Seiten diverse Informationen zum Thema psychische Gesundheit und zu meinem Leistungsangebot. Ein zentrales Ziel meiner Arbeit ist es, Menschen in Gesundheit und Krankheit eine sichere und offene Atmosphäre anzubieten, die Entwicklung bzw. Gesundung ermöglicht.

Einen Überblick über essenzielle Aspekte finden Sie in der folgenden Auflistung auf dieser Seite.

  • Psychische Gesundheit

    Alle Menschen oszillieren zwischen körperlicher (somatischer) und psychischer Gesundheit und Krankheit. Niemand ist völlig gesund und niemand ist völlig krank. Im Laufe der Lebensspanne entwickelt fast jeder Mensch eine psychische Erkrankung. Eine Diagnose bedeutet jedoch nicht in jedem Fall, dass eine therapeutische Intervention notwendig ist. Der zentrale Schritt in Richtung der Erhaltung von psychischer Gesundheit bzw. Gesundung ist der Mut, in Kontakt zu treten und offen über die aktuelle Situation zu sprechen. Die größte Gefahr zu erkranken besteht in der Versuchung, alle Konflikte alleine auszutragen und Symptome auf eigene Faust zu therapieren. Psychische Erkrankungen sind gut behandelbar, wenn evidenz-basierte Methoden zur Anwendung kommen. In der Regel bedeutet dies eine Kombination psychopharmakologischer und psychotherapeutischer Interventionen. Beide Prozesse benötigen ausreichend Zeit, um die medizinischen Themen und psychologischen Momente eingehend besprechen zu können. Im Mittelpunkt steht letztlich die therapeutische Beziehung, deren Transparenz, Differenziertheit und Authentizität über den Erfolg der Therapie entscheidet.

  • Diagnostik

    Ein Fokus meiner klinischen Tätigkeit besteht in einer umfassenden und detaillierten psychiatrischen Diagnostik, die die zentrale Voraussetzung der Entwicklung einer adäquaten Therapiestrategie darstellt. Diese inkludiert nicht nur eine präzise Abklärung organischer Aspekte sondern auch eine detaillierte Erfassung der Persönlichkeitsorganisation, da beide maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die Auswahl der indizierten therapeutischen Interventionen haben. Nachdem viele PatientInnen erst spät und mit entsprechend fortgeschrittener Erkrankung zum Facharzt für Psychiatrie und psychotherapeutische Medizin kommen, habe ich für Menschen, die sich aktuell weitgehend gesund fühlen, eine Vorsorgeuntersuchung zum aktuellen Status ihrer psychischen Gesundheit entwickelt. Sollten Sie bereits an einer Erkrankung leiden und eine funktionelle Einschränkung in Ihrem privaten oder beruflichen Leben erfahren, empfehle ich Ihnen, sobald als möglich Kontakt aufzunehmen. Eine Progression der Erkrankung ohne Behandlung reduziert die Varianz der prognostischen Szenarien und der erreichbaren therapeutischen Ziele. Gleichzeitig erhöht eine fortgeschrittene Erkrankung zumeist die Komplexität der Therapieverfahren und die Zeitdauer bis zur Remission der Symptomatik.

  • Klinische Schwerpunkte

    • Depression
    • Burnout
    • Bipolare Störung (Manie/Depression)
    • Angststörung
    • Suchterkrankungen (Alkohol-, Tabak-, Medikamenten- und Drogenabhängigkeit)
    • Schmerzstörung/Somatoforme Störung
    • Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Hyperaktivitätssyndrom ADHS
    • Borderline Störung
    • Narzisstische Störung

    Die Schwerpunkte meiner Arbeit liegen in folgenden Bereichen:

    • Diagnostik
    • Psychopharmakologie
    • Psychoanalytisch orientierte Psychotherapie
    • Coaching und Consulting im Kontext von Burnout und Mobbing
    • Diagnostik und Therapie unter Berücksichtigung der Persönlichkeitsorganisation

    Ausführliche Informationen über meine klinische Tätigkeit finden Sie unter Klinische Schwerpunkte.

  • Therapie

    Die therapeutische Strategie wird unter Berücksichtigung aller diagnostischen Informationen zusammen mit der/m PatientIn entwickelt, da individuelle Ziele sehr divergieren können. Ein Spezifikum meiner Arbeitsweise liegt in der Integration von Methoden der Psychiatrie und der psychoanalytisch orientierten Psychotherapie. Die Kombination evidenzbasierter psychopharmakologischer und psychotherapeutischer Interventionen ermöglicht den höchsten Grad an Wirksamkeit. Allgemein empfiehlt sich keine medikamentöse Behandlung ohne einen entsprechenden psychotherapeutischen Prozess, wobei PatientInnen diesen je nach Kapazität bei mir oder bei einer/m von mir empfohlenen Psychotherapeutin/en verfolgen können. Die Entscheidung für eine Privatordination bietet den Vorteil, dass Sie die Intensität des therapeutischen Prozesses flexibel gestalten können.

  • Person

    Dr. Gerald Pail ist Facharzt für Psychiatrie und psychotherapeutische Medizin und führt eine Privatordination und Lehrpraxis in Wien. Seine Ausbildung absolvierte er an der Universitätsklinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie am AKH Wien und am Anton Proksch Institut Wien. Seine klinischen Schwerpunkte sind die Diagnostik und Therapie von Affektiven Störungen, Angsterkrankungen, adultem ADHS, Suchterkrankungen und Persönlichkeitsstörungen. Seine akademische Forschung an der Medizinischen Universität Wien fokussierte auf die Interaktion von emotionsprozessierenden Systemen sowie auf zerebrale Geneffekte. Er absolvierte die Ausbildung zum psychotherapeutischen Mediziner an der Universitätsklinik für Psychoanalyse und Psychotherapie Wien und zum psychoanalytisch orientierten Psychotherapeuten an der Wiener psychoanalytischen Akademie. Aktuell ist er zudem in Ausbildung zum Psychoanalytiker in der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung. Dr. Gerald Pail arbeitet zudem als psychodynamischer Berater, Coach und Supervisor. Er ist durch die Freie Universität Berlin zertifizierter Business Coach und Absolvent des psychoanalytisch orientierten Leadership&Consulting Lehrgangs der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Akademie. Er war zudem als medizinischer Konsulent für die pharmazeutische Industrie, als klinischer Forscher an zwei verschiedenen Studienzentren, sowie als Lehrbeauftragter der Medizinischen Universität Wien und der Freien Universität Berlin tätig. Er ist Initiator und Mitherausgeber des Buches Psychopharmaka Austria und Präsident von Bring Freud ins Leben, Gesellschaft gegen die Diskriminierung von Menschen mit psychischen Erkrankungen.

  • Ordination

    Dr. Gerald Pail
    Facharzt für Psychiatrie und psychotherapeutische Medizin
    Psychoanalytisch orientierter Psychotherapeut
    Psychodynamischer Coach, Berater und Supervisor
    Lehrpraxisleiter

    Zentrum für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie Wien
    Wahlarzt in Privatordination
    Termine nach Vereinbarung

    Zimmermanngasse 1A/2/8, 1090 Wien

    » In Google Maps ansehen

    Ordination
    T +43 1 3618884
    M +43 676 6356659
    M +43 676 9162221 Kontakt für medizinische Notfälle bestehender PatientInnen

    E office@geraldpail.net

    Terminvereinbarung
    Falls Sie einen Termin für ein Erstgespräch vereinbaren möchten, schreiben Sie am besten eine Email, in der Sie auch Ihre Mobil-Telefonnummer für die Terminvereinbarung angeben. Falls Sie spezifische Fragen zu Honorar, Erstattung oder Setting haben, können Sie zudem vormittags die Rezeption telefonisch erreichen.

    Telemedizin
    Dr. Gerald Pail bietet alle seine Leistung zudem als Online Service an. Um mit ihm im Rahmen einer Videotelefonie Einheit zu sprechen oder um Dokumente auszutauschen loggen Sie sich bitte auf dem LATIDO PatientInnen Portal ein.

    LATIDO PatientInnen Portal

    Den Anfahrtsplan zur Ordination finden Sie unter Kontakt Ordination. Fotos von der Praxis finden Sie unter Kontakt Praxis. Weitere Informationen zu Verschwiegenheit, Datenschutz und Telemedizin finden Sie unter Kontakt Telemedizin / Datenschutz.

Ausführlichere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website unter den jeweiligen Menüpunkten. Bitte beachten Sie auch meine Angebote als psychodynamischer Berater, Coach und Supervisor.

Herzlich Willkommen!
Dr. Gerald Pail.